Existing (1995) Deed Restrictions

After Marilyn Estates began in 1957, the subdivision’s Deed Restrictions drafted by the original developer worked well. In 1995, Marilyn Estates’ property owners drafted and approved Deed Restrictions directed more to maintenance of the subdivision. Today, new state legislation and practices such as tear-downs and rebuilds have led us to protect our interests through a proposed set of new Deed Restrictions. Below is the existing set of Deed Restrictions; click for the Proposed (2013) Deed Restrictions.

2018 Officers

(Because of spam, we are showing e-mail addresses using "at" instead of "@" Please convert addresses to the proper format to contact via e-mail.)

President- CJ Yeoman - 713-729-8442     cjyeoman at sbcglobal.net

Vice President - Martin Stalnaker - 713-721-2752   mstalnajker at acumenpc.com

Treasurer - Robert Gehring - 281-773-7135     treasurymea at outlook.com

Recording Secretary - Susan Sides - xxx-xxx-xxxx   susansides at earthlink.net

Corresponding Secretary - Martha Eaves - 713-256-3484   marthaeaves at gmail.com

Parliamentarian - Ed Fastow - 713-553-7399    efastow at sbcglobal.net

Block Directors

Block directors with the officers comprise the Board of Directors of the Marilyn Estates Association. They approve the annual budget, inform residents of vital information that affects the neighborhood, and act as a first line of defense in our deed restrictions.

Marilyn Estates Association Committees/Other

(Because of spam, we are showing e-mail addresses using “at” instead of “@” Please convert addresses to the proper format to contact via e-mail.)

Architectural Control

  • Michael Strickland -- 713-961-1323     ms at michaelstrickland.com
  • Nancy Hixon -- 713-728-9386     nshixon at att.net
  • Elizabeth Frankowski -- 713-729-6002    ElizabethFrankowski at gmail.com

Deed Restriction Enforcement

  • Linda Miner – 713-826-8077    lindaminer999 at att.net
  • Sam Musachia -- 713-501-5255    sam.musachia at sbcglobal.net
  • Marla Cotten -- 832-270-7282    marlacotten at gmail.com
  • Linda Maraldo -- 832-264-3546   lmaraldo at sbcglobal.net
  • Jim Taylor -- 832-269-1500   j.stay at hotmail.com
  • All block directors

Subdivision Common-Area Maintenance

The Maintenance Committee handles upkeep of the medians in the 5400 and 5500 blocks of South Braeswood, as well as the area on the west side of Chimney Rock along the drainage ditch, from South Braeswood down to Lymbar. It also handles items such as spraying for mosquitoes for much of the year.

Deed Restriction Enforcement

The Amended Deed Restrictions of Marilyn Estates protect and maintain the subdivision’s property values and quality of life. The volunteer members of the Deed Restriction Enforcement Committee take questions and complaints from residents on situations with properties in the subdivision.

Architectural Control Information

Before you begin any construction project, the Marilyn Estates Architectural Control Committee must approve even simple projects, as required by the subdivision’s deed restrictions.

Building a new structure, garage, roof or partial roof, as well as other modifications or additions to any structure on your property require written approval by the Architectural Control Committee.

Marilyn Estates History

History of Marilyn Estates subdivision

Marilyn Estates was developed in 10 Sections with the first Section (I), the 5400 blocks of Lymbar and Cheena, begun in September 1957. Section V included the 5400 blocks of Queensloch, Paisley and South Braeswood and the 9700 blocks of Kit, oasis and Braesmont (odd numbers only). Sections VI through X comprised the 5500 blocks. Deed restrictions for the last section, X, were filed Aug. 9, 1962.